ISSN: 0973-0257



Volume IX

THE GRASSROOTS GOVERNANCE JOURNAL

(A Window to Understanding Village Republics of India) Published by Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India **Chairman: DR. SUBHASH C. KASHYAP Editor: DR. D. SUNDAR RAM**



CONTENTS

Number 1

January-	June, 2011
----------	------------

Articles	Page
Mahatma Gandhi and Greenfield Industrialisation in Globalising India:	1-18
Mind-Notes on the Potential for Civic Asymmetric Resistance	
P.C. Mathur	
People Centric Paradigms at Capacity Building: The Case of Formal and	19-43
Informal Functionaries under MGNREGS- A Right to Work Model for Local	
Self Governance in India	
Joseph Abraham	
Historical Debates on Decentralisation and Democracy in India:	44-61
M.K. Gandhi, M.N. Roy, J.P. Narayan and B.R. Ambedkar	
K. Rajesh	
Local-Governance in Scheduled Areas: A Study of Andhra Pradesh	62-92
M. Arun Kumar	
Gram Panchayat Elections in Rajasthan: Challenges and Possibilities-	93-110
An Empirical Study of Danalpur Village Panchayat Election	
Janak Singh Meena • Ms. Anita Rathi	
Accountability and Transparency in Decentralised Governance:	111-125
A Study in Manipur State	
Sonkhogin Haokip	
Role of Panchayati Raj Institutions in Development : Back Bone of the	126-145
Indian Democracy at the Grassroots	
R.P. Prabhakar	
Notes and Comments	
Land Relations in India: A Critical Perspective	146-154
M. Kunhaman	
Grassroots Perception	
Urban Local Bodies Management in India: Rethinking on Reforms	155-165
A.S. Ashwini Roy • D.C. Nanjunda	

NOTES ON THE CONTRIBUTORS

(Designations of the Contributors are at the time of the Publication of the Journal in the Year-2011)

1. Prof. P.C. Mathur

President, Indian Network for Rajasthan Studies, Jaipur. He has been served as Professor of Public Administration, University of Rajasthan, Jaipur, Rajasthan.

2. Dr. Joseph Abraham

Consultant, National Institute of Rural Development (NIRD), Hyderabad.

3. Mr. K. Rajesh

Ph.D.Research Scholar, Centre for Political Institutions, Governance and Development, Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru.

4. Mr. M. Arun Kumar

Ph.D. Research Scholar, Department of Political Science, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad.

5. Dr. Janak Singh Meena

Post-Doctoral Fellow, Department of Public Administration, University of Rajasthan, Jaipur, Rajasthan.

6. Ms. Anitha Rathi

Research Scholar, Department of Sociology, University of Rajasthan, Jaipur, Rajasthan.

7. Dr. Sonkhogin Haokip

Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science and Development Administration, Gandhigram Rural Institute (Deemed University), Gandhigram, Tamil Nadu.

8. Mr. R.P. Prabhakar

Research Scholar, Department of Political Science, Annamalai University, Annamalai Nagar, Tamil Nadu.

9. Prof. M. Kunhaman

Professor, School of Rural Development, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Tuljapur, Maharashtra.

10. Dr. A.S. Ashwini Roy

Lecturer, Government College, Bengaluru.

11. Mr. D.C. Nanjunda

Project Associate, Centre for Advanced Rural and Tribal Policy Innovation and Management, Kodagu, Karnataka.