

Grassroots Democracy

THE GRASSROOTS GOVERNANCE JOURNAL

(A Window to Understanding Village Republics of India)

Published by Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India
Chairman: DR. SUBHASH C. KASHYAP
Editor: DR. D. SUNDAR RAM



Volume VI

Number 2

July-December, 2008

CONTENTS

ıge
-174
-179
-193
-203
-206
-218
-242
-253
-268
-274
0.50
-279
-282
-202
-284
-287
-291

NOTES ON THE CONTRIBUTORS

(Designations of the Contributors are at the time of the Publication of the Journal in the Year-2008)

1. Dr. C. Rangarajan

Hon'ble Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha), New Delh. He has been served as Chairman, Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India; Governor of Andhra Pradesh and Governor of Reserve Bank of India; Chairman, 12th Finance Commission of India, New Delhi.

2. Mrs. Prema Cariappa

Chairperson, Central Social Welfare Board, Govt. of India, New Delhi.

3. Dr (Mrs) Jaya Arunachalam

President, Working Women's Forum, Chennai.

4. Shri Jagat S. Mehta, IFS (Retd.)

Trustee, Vidya Bhavan Society and Seva Mandir, Jaipur, Rajasthan. He has been served as Foreign Secretary, Government of India and Indian Ambassador to many countries.

5. Dr. Sam Pitroda

Chairman, National Knowledge Commission, Govt. of India, New Delhi. He has been served as Adviser to Shri Rajiv Gandhi, the then Prime Minister of India.

6. Dr (Mrs) Devaki Jain

Trustee, Singamma Srinivasan Foundation, Bengaluru.

7. Ms. Ahalya S. Bhat

Singamma Srinivasan Foundation, Bengaluru.

8. Ms. Padmini Ananth

Singamma Srinivasan Foundation, Bengaluru.

9. Mr. H. Anand

Singamma Srinivasan Foundation, Bengaluru.

10. Prof. U. Kalpagam

Professor, G.B, Pant Social Science Institute, Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh.

11. Prof. M. Kunhaman

Professor, School of Rural Development, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Tuljapur, Maharashtra.

12. Dr. O.P. Bohra

Associate Professor, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy, New Delhi.

13. Dr. R. Rakshit

Consultant, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy, New Delhi.

14. Prof. B. S. Bhargava

Senior Fellow, Institute of Social Sciences, Southern Regional Centre, Bengaluru.

15. Dr. I. Satya Sundaram

Visiting Faculty Member, Department of Rural Development, Acharya Nagarjuna University, Nagarjuna Nagar, Guntur, Andhra Pradesh.

16. Prof. Ranbir Singh

Consultant, Haryana Institute of Rural Development, Nilokheri, District Karnal, Haryana

17. Dr. D. Sundar Ram

Founder Director, Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India, Tirupati, AP.