

THE GRASSROOTS GOVERNANCE JOURNAL

(A Window to Understanding Village Republics of India)

Published by Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India Chairman: DR. SUBHASH C. KASHYAP

Editor: DR. D. SUNDAR RAM

Numbers 1 & 2

January-June & July-December, 2009

CONTENTS

Articles	Page
Grassroots Planning and Right to Information Act: Role of Local Self-Govt. Institutions in	1-9
Delivering Good Governance	
A.N. Tiwari, IAS (Retd.)	
Space Technology Applications for Rural Development in India	10-20
G. Madhavan Nair	
Grassroots Planning and People's Participation in Local Governance: Indian Perspective	21-26
S.S. Meenakshi Sundaram, IAS (Retd.)	
Institutional Support and Framework for Decentralised Governance and	27-34
Local Governments in India	
Venkatrao Ghorpade	
Globalisation, Local Democracy and Inclusive Governance: The Indian Experience	35-52
Satya Narayana Sangita & T.K. Jyothi	
Grassroots Governance and People's Participation at Work after Implementation of PESA:	53-68
Evidences from Tribal Regions of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Gujarat States	
Yatindra Singh Sisodia	
District Planning Committees and Grassroots Level Planning:	69-77
Some Issues with Reference to Karnataka State	
M. Devendra Babu	
Panchayati Raj in Haryana: A Strategy for Effective Functioning in Delivery of Services	78-101
Rajvir S. Dhaka	
Rural Governance for Inclusive Growth: The Indian Experience	102-112
N. Sivanna	
Participatory Institutions and People's Practices: An Analysis of Decentralisation	113-131
Experiences in Kerala State	
K. Rajesh	
Notes and Comments	
Empowering Women: Some Aspects of the Karnataka Experience	132-139
K. Subha & B.S. Bhargava	
Equality without Reservations: It's Feasibility for Indian Women	140-152
A. Rizwana	
Mahatma Gandhi on Basic Education and Rural Development: Perceptions and Relevance	153-160
G. Sandhya Rani	100 100
Grassroots Perception	
Interventions for Women Empowerment in India: A Study in Gujarat State	161-170
	101-1/0
P. Arjun Rao & A.V Yadappanavar	

Decentralised Planning in India: The Haryana Experience

171-178

Ranbir Singh& Jyostna Sangwan

Document 179-181

13-point AGRASRI Tirupati Declaration on Grassroots Planning and People's Participation in Local Governance (*Recommendations of the National Colloquium on Grassroots Level Planning and Local Government Institutions in India: Policy Initiatives and People's Participation since 1992, held under the aegis of AGRASRI, Tirupati*)

Index to The Grassroots Governance Journal (January-December 2009)

182-184

NOTES ON THE CONTRIBUTORS

(Designations of the Contributors are at the time of the Publication of the Journal in the Year-2009)

1. Dr. A. N. Tiwari, IAS (Retd.)

Central Information Commissioner (RTI), Govt. of India, New Delhi. He has been served as Secretary to the Vice-President of India and Secretary to the Govt. of India, New Delhi.

2. Dr. G. Madhavan Nair

Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Bengaluru and Secretary, Department of Space, Govt. of India, New Delhi.

3. Dr. S.S. Meenakshi Sundaram, IAS (Retd.)

Visiting Professor of Rural Development, National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bengaluru. He has been served as Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development, Govt. of India and Joint Secretary, Prime Minister Secretariat, New Delhi.

4. Shri Venkatrao Y. Ghorpade

Chairman, SHIRDI Foundation, Bengaluru. He has been served as President, Zilla Parishad, Bellary, Karnataka.

5. Prof. Satyanarayana Sangita

Professor and Head, Centre for Political Institutions, Governance and Development, Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru.

6. Dr (Mrs) T.K. Jyothi

Research Officer, Centre for Political Institutions, Governance and Development, Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru.

7. Prof. Yatindra Singh Sisodia

Professor, Madhya Pradesh Institute of Social Science Research, Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh.

8. Dr. M. Devendra Babu

Associate Professor, Centre for Decentralisation and Development, Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru.

9. Dr. Rajvir Dhaka

Faculty Member, Haryana Institute of Public Administration, Gurgaon, Haryana.

10. Dr. N. Sivanna

Associate Professor, Centre for Political Institutions, Governance and Development, Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru.

11. Mr. K. Rajesh

Research Scholar, Centre for Political Institutions, Governance and Development, Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru.

12. Dr. K. Subha

Regional Co-ordinator, Institute of Social Sciences, Southern Regional Centre, Bengaluru.

13. Prof. B.S. Bhargava

Senior Fellow, Institute of Social Sciences, Southern Regional Centre, Bengaluru.

14. Dr (Mrs) A. Rizwana

Associate Professor, Centre for Gender Studies, National Institute of Rural Development, Hyderabad.

15. Prof (Mrs) G. Sandhya Rani

Associate Professor, Centre for Women's Studies, Sri Padmavathi Mahila Visvavidyalayam, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh.

16. Prof. P. Arjun Rao

Adjunct Professor, School of Public Policy and Editor, ICFAI University, Hyderabad

17. Dr. A.V. Yadappanavar

Associate Professor, Centre for Gender Studies, National Institute of Rural Development, Hyderabad.

18. Prof. Ranbir Singh

Consultant, Haryana Institute of Rural Development, Nilokheri, District Karnal, Haryana.

19. Dr (Mrs) Jyotsna Sangwan

Senior Lecturer in Political Science, Government P.G. College, Hisar, Haryana.