ISSN: 0973-0257



THE GRASSROOTS GOVERNANCE JOURNAL

(A Window to Understanding Village Republics of India)

Published by Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India
Chairman: DR. SUBHASH C. KASHYAP

Editor: DR. D. SUNDAR RAM

Volume X Number 1

January-June, 2012

CONTENTS

Articles	Page
Energy Technologies and Energy Security in India	1-5
R. Chidambaram	
Cancer in India: From a Period of Incurability to Curability	6-10
V. Shanta	
The Information Deficit: Use of Media in Deliberative Democracy- The Case of	11-33
Selected Grama Sabha Proceedings in West Bengal	
Swati Bhattacharjee and Raghabendra Chattopadhyay	
Legacies of Public Administration in India: Transformation and Ideological Changes	34-46
P.C. Mathur	
Reaching Education at the Grassroots Level: A Study of Nomadic and	47-71
De-notified Communities in Andhra Pradesh	
Malli Gandhi	
Civil Society and Crisis of Governance in Manipur: Some Perspectives	72-89
Sonkhogin Haokip	
Reproduction of Grassroots Institutions through People's Practices:	90-113
Reflections from Gram Panchayat in Kerala	
K. Rajesh	
Notes and Comments	
Participatory Structures at the Local Level and Interventions by Youth in India	114-125
K. Gireesan	
Grassroots Perception	
Devolution of Powers to the Panchayati Raj Institutions in Haryana	126-132
Ranhir Singh and Kushal Pal	

NOTES ON THE CONTRIBUTORS

(Designations of the Contributors are at the time of the Publication of the Journal in the Year-2012)

1. Dr. R. Chidambaram

Principal Scientific Adviser to the Government of India, New Delhi. He has been serves as Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission of India, Govt. of India, Mumbai.

2. Dr. V. Shanta

Chairperson, Cancer Institute, Chennai.

3. Ms. Swati Bhattacharjee

Assistant Editor, Ananda Bazar Patrika, Kolkata.

4. Prof. Raghabendra Chattopadhyay

Professor, Public Policy and Management Group, Indian Institute of Management, Kolkata.

5. Prof. P.C. Mathur

General-Secretary-cum-Treasurer, New Public Administration Society of India (NEPASI) and President, Indian Network for Rajasthan Studies, Jaipur, Rajasthan.

6. Dr. Malli Gandhi

Associate Professor, Department of DESSH, Regional Institute of Education, NCERT, Mysore, Karnataka.

7. Dr. Sonkhogin Haokip

Lecturer, Department of Political Science and Development Administration, Gandhigram Rural Institute (Deemed University), Gandhigram, Tamil Nadu.

8. Mr. K. Rajesh

Ph.D. Research Scholar, Centre for Political Institutions, Governance and Development, Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru.

9. Dr. K. Gireesan

Faculty Head, Panchayati Raj Institutions and Youth Affairs (PRIYA) Division, Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development, Govt. of India, Sriperambudur, Tamil Nadu.

10. Prof. Ranbir Singh

Consultant, Haryana Institute of Rural Development, Nilokheri, District Karnal, Haryana.

11. Dr. Kushal Pal

Associate Professor in Political Science, Dyal Singh College, Karnal, Haryana.