

THE GRASSROOTS GOVERNANCE JOURNAL

(A Window to Understanding Village Republics of India)

Published by Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India Chairman: DR. SUBHASH C. KASHYAP Editor: DR. D. SUNDAR RAM



Volume XIII

Number 1

January-June, 2015

CONTENTS

Articles	Page
Science and Sustainable Food and Nutrition Security: Agenda for Zero Hunger	1-24
M. S. Swaminathan	
Achieving Excellence in Higher Education: The Role of Universities	25-32
K. Viyanna Rao	
Democratic Governance: Stability and Variability in Public Administration Policies,	33-51
Institutions and Organisations	
P. C. Mathur	
Sustainable Model for Technology Enabled Development in Rural Areas	52-61
(Sarvangeen Grameen Vikas)	
Anil Kakodkar	
Panchayats, Women and Violence in India: Some Reflections	62-88
Bidyut Mohanty	
Capacity Building of Gram Panchayat for Effective Management of Rural Development:	89-108
The Case of Manipur State	
Sonkhogin Haokip	
Participation of women in PRIs: How far is it true?	109-127
A Study of Backward Areas of West Bengal	
Somenath Halder	
Notes and Comments	
Sustainable Development Agenda for Chittoor District of Andhra Pradesh:	128-138
Future Vision	
S. Jayarama Reddy	
Grassroots Perception	
Management of Drinking Water in Haryana - Some Issues	139-143
K.K. Mor - C.R.Sharma - Veena Sehgal	

NOTES ON THE CONTRIBUTORS

(Designations of the Contributors are at the time of the Publication of the Journal in the Year-2015)

1. Prof. M. S. Swaminathan

Founder, M. S. Swaminathan Research Foundation, Chennai.

2. Prof. K. Viyanna Rao

Former Vice-Chancellor, Acharya Nagarjuna University, Nagarjuna Nagar, Guntur, Andhra Pradesh.

3. Prof. P.C. Mathur

General-Secretary-cum-Treasurer, New Public Administration Society of India (NEPASI) and President, Indian Network for Rajasthan Studies, Jaipur, Rajasthan.

4. Dr. Anil Kakodkar

Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission of India, Govt. of India, Mumbai.

5. Dr (Mrs) Bidyut Mohanthy

Head, Women's Studies, Institute of Social Sciences, New Delhi.

6. Dr. Sonkhogin Haokip

Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science and Development Administration, Gandhigram Rural Institute (Deemed University), Gandhigram, Tamil Nadu.

7. Dr. Somenath Halder

Assistant Professor, Kaliachak College, Malda, West Bengal.

8. Prof. S. Jayarama Reddy

Chancellor, Sri Chandrasekharendra Saraswathi Viswa Maha Vidyalaya (Deemed University), Kancheepuram, Tamil Nadu.

9. Dr. Krishna Kumar Mor

Faculty Member, Rajiv Gandhi State Institute of Panchayati Raj and Community Development, Nilokheri, District Karnal, Haryana.

10. Dr. C.R. Sharma

Consultant, Rajiv Gandhi State Institute of Panchayati Raj and Community Development, Nilokheri, District Karnal, Haryana.

11. Mrs. Veena Sehgal

Faculty Member, Rajiv Gandhi State Institute of Panchayati Raj and Community Development, Nilokheri, District Karnal, Haryana.