Gram Swaraj through Grassroots Democracy

Volume XIII

THE GRASSROOTS GOVERNANCE JOURNAL

(A Window to Understanding Village Republics of India) **Published by Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India** Chairman: DR. SUBHASH C. KASHYAP Editor: DR. D. SUNDAR RAM



Number 2

July-December, 2015

CONTENTS

| Articles Desig Senitation in Dural India, Dead Man for Sweeth Phonet | Page 153-174 |
|---|-----------------|
| Basic Sanitation in Rural India- Road Map for Swachh Bharat Bindeshwar Pathak | 155-174 |
| Water and Sanitation: The Role of Decentralised Institutions in | 175-184 |
| Andhra Pradesh and Telangana States | |
| M.Gopinath Reddy and K.S. Babu | |
| Basic Sanitation in Rural India-Road Map for Swachh Bharat | 185-192 |
| S.K.Pachauri, IAS Retd. | |
| Further Decentralisation of Management of Drinking Water in Karnataka: | 193-207 |
| Perspective and Problems Veerashekharappa | |
| Initiatives for a Sustainable Solid Waste Management System: | 208-232 |
| Reality Check with Mudichur Village Panchayat, Tamil Nadu | |
| K. Gireesan | |
| Swachh Bharat: Status of Sanitation in Kerala | 233-247 |
| M.K. Ravindranathan | 040 04 5 |
| Provision of Basic Sanitation in Rural Karnataka: Achievements and Challenges | 248-265 |
| Narayana Billava and Arunkumar R. Kulkarni Dagia Sepitation in Dural India, Dagd Man for Swashh Dharat | 266-271 |
| Basic Sanitation in Rural India: Road Map for Swachh Bharat Venkatrao Y. Ghorpade | 200-271 |
| Status of Sanitation in Rural India: A Synoptic View | 272-279 |
| P. Hiranniya Kalesh | |
| Sanitation and Social Change in the Context of Developing Societies: | 280-297 |
| A Study with Special Reference to India | 200 277 |
| S.S. Sreekumar | |
| Notes and Comments | |
| Renovating Culture and Social Norms for Total Sanitation in India | 298-305 |
| V. Ragupathi and A. Dheivaprakash | |
| Basic Sanitation in Rural India: Road Map for Swachh Bharat | 306-309 |
| Jaya Arunachalam | |
| Grassroots Perception | |
| Sanitation Status in Government Schools of Rajasthan: | 310-314 |
| The Case Studies of Rajsamand, Bhilwada and Ajmer | |
| Basant Kumar | |
| Neera: A Tasty & Healthy Boon to Coconut Farmers | 315-320 |
| Mini Mathew and Arya Aravind | 222 225 |
| Document: Tirupati Declaration on Swachh Bharat in India: Future Agenda | 323-325 |
| Index to The Grassroots Governance Journal | 326-329 |
| (Vol. XIII, No's: 1 and 2, January-June and July-December, 2015) | |

NOTES ON THE CONTRIBUTORS

(Designations of the Contributors are at the time of the Publication of the Journal in the Year-2015)

1. Dr. Bindeshwar Pathak

Founder, Sulabh International Social Service Organisation, New Delhi.

2. Prof. M. Gopinath Reddy

Professor, Centre for Economic and Social Studies, Hyderabad.

3. Dr. K. S. Babu

Associate Professor, Centre for Economic and Social Studies, Hyderabad.

4. Dr. S.K. Pachauri, IAS (Retd.)

Former Secretary to the Government of India, New Delhi. Now, he is based in Noida, Uttar Pradesh.

5. Dr. Veerasekharappa

Associate Professor (Retd.), Institute for Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru.

6. Dr. K. Gireesan

Faculty Head, Department of Local Governance, Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development, Govt. of India, Sriperambudur, Tamil Nadu.

7. Shri M.K. Ravindranathan

Consultant, Kerala Institute of Local Administration (KILA), Trissur, Kerala.

8. Dr. Narayana Billava

Research Assistant, Abdul Nazir Sab Panchayati Raj Chair, Centre for Multi-disciplinary Development Research (CMDR), Dharwad, Karnataka.

9. Dr. Arun Kumar R. Kulkarni

Assistant Professor, Centre for Multi-disciplinary Development Research (CMDR), Dharwad, Karnataka.

10. Shi Venkatrao Y. Ghorpade

Chairman, High Power Committee to Address Regional Imbalances in Backward Taluks, Govt. of Karnataka, Bengaluru. He has been served as President, Zilla Parishad, Bellary, Karnataka.

11. Dr. P. Hiranniya Kalesh

Faculty Member, School of Governance and Public Policy, Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development, Govt. of India, Sriperambudur, Tamil Nadu.

12. Dr. S.S. Sreekumar

Associate Professor and Head, P.G. Department of Political Science, Jawaharlal Nehru Government College, Port Blair, Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

13. Prof. V. Raghupathi

Professor, Department of Political Science and Development Administration, Gandhigram Rural Institute (Deemed University), Gandhigram, Tamil Nadu.

14. Mr. A. Dheivaprakash

Ph.D. Research Scholar, Department of Political Science and Development Administration, Gandhigram Rural Institute (Deemed University), Gandhigram, Tamil Nadu.

15. Dr (Mrs) Jaya Arunachalam

President, Working Women's Forum, Chennai.

16. Mr. Basant Kumar

M.A. Local Governance Student, School of Governance and Public Policy, Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development, Govt. of India, Sriperambudur, Tamil Nadu.

17. Mrs. Mini Mathew

Publicity Officer, Coconut Development Board, Ministry of Agriculture, Govt. of India, Kochi, Kerala.

18. Shri Arya Aravind

Journalist, Coconut Development Board, Ministry of Agriculture, Govt. of India, Kochi, Kerala.