THE GRASSROOTS GOVERNANCE JOURNAL

(A Window to Understanding Village Republics of India)

Published by Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India Chairman: DR. SUBHASH C. KASHYAP Editor: DR. D. SUNDAR RAM



Gram Swaraj through Grassroots Democracy

भेवें भवन्तु सुण्डि

n: DR. Subhash C. Rashirar Number 2

Volume II

July-December, 2004

CONTENTS

Foreword by Dr. Subhash C. Kashyap Editorial Articles	vii viii-x
Dream of Rajiv Gandhi - Healthy Gram Swaraj for Self-reliant India Mohan Dharia	154-159
Panchayati Raj in India - An Institution of Grassroots Development Mani Shankar Aiyar, IFS (Retd.)	160-181
Remembering Rajiv Gandhi Subhash C. Kashyap	182-188
Rajiv Gandhi and Space U.R. Rao	189-190
Rajiv Gandhi and Information Technology S.Z. Qasim	191-194
Rajiv Gandhi's Vision of Governance Ramesh K. Arora	195-198
Rajiv Gandhi and Women's Empowerment U. Kalpagam	199-206
Rajiv Gandhi and Panchayati Raj Governance K.C. Sivaramakrishnan, IAS (Retd.)	207-210
Towards Empowering Gram Sabha in India M. Aslam	211-218
Rajiv Gandhi and Panchayati Raj - Unfinished Agenda Mahi Pal	219-224
Size and Area of Gram Panchayat in India S.P. Jain	225-238
Rajiv Gandhi - As a Sensitive Environmentalist Amita Singh	239-243
Participatory Planning for Decentralised Governance Rajiv Ranjan Prasad	244-265
Rajiv Gandhi and Women's Empowerment K. Jayalakshmi	266-269
Facing Famine Fearlessly: Services Way! I.C. Srivastava, IAS (Retd.)	270-273
Rajiv Gandhi's Vision of Panchayati Raj Yatindra Singh Sisodia	274-276
Rajiv Gandhi's Frame work for Devolution of Powers for Democracy and Development G. Palanithurai	277-285

Notes and Comments

	206 200
Rajiv Gandhi - Random Reminiscences	286-288
V.R. Krishna Iyer	
Rajiv Gandhi - A Gentleman par Excellence	289-290
P. Shiv Shanker	
My Reminiscences of Rajiv Gandhi	291-292
Rabi Ray	
Rajiv Gandhi and Some Reminiscences	293-295
Ajit Kumar Panja	
Rajiv Gandhi - A Peerless Leader	296-298
N. Rangasamy	
Rajiv Gandhi: Promoter of I.T. and Public Sector Efficiency	299-304
T.H. Chowdary	
Grassroots Perception	
Ministry of Local Government in India - Need of the Hour	305-309
George Mathew	
Document	
Power to the People [Text of the Statement of Shri Rajiv	310-321
Gandhi on Panchayati Raj Bill (64th Amendment) in Lok Sabha,	
15 May, 1989]	

NOTES ON THE CONTRIBUTORS

(Designations of the Contributors are at the time of the Publication of the Journal in the Year-2004)

1. Shri Mohan Dharia

President, VANARAI, Pune, Maharashtra. He has been served as Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission of India and Union Cabinet Minister for Commerce, Civil Supplies and Cooperation, Govt. of India, now he is based in Pune, Maharashtra.

2. Shri Mani Shankar Aiyar, IFS (Retd.)

Hon'ble Union Minister for Panchayati Raj and Petroleum & Natural Gas, Govt. of India, New Delhi.

3. Dr. Subhash C. Kashyap

Former Secretary-General of Lok Sabha; President, Rashtriya Jagrithi Sansthan; Honorary Research Professor, Centre for Policy Studies; Founder Chairman, Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India; Chairman, Editorial Board of The Grassroots Governance Journal and Editor, South Asia Politics, New Delhi.

4. Prof. U. R. Rao

Chairman, Physical Research Laboratory, Indian Space Research Organsiation, Bengaluru. He has been served as Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Bengaluru.

5. Dr. S.Z. Qasim

Vice-Chairman, Society for Indian Ocean Studies, New Delhi. He has been served as Member, Planning Commission of India and Secretary, Department of Ocean Development, Govt. of India, New Delhi.

6. Prof. Ramesh K. Arora

Visiting Professor, HCM State Institute of Public Administration, and Editor, Administrative Change, Jaipur. He has been served as Professor of Public Administration, University of Rajasthan, Jaipur, Rajasthan.

7. Prof. U. Kalpagam

Faculty Member, G.B. Pant Social Science Institute, Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh.

8. Shri K. C. Sivarama Krishnan, IAS (Retd.)

Former Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development, Govt. of India, New Delhi.

9. Prof. M. Aslam

Professor of Rural Development and Former Director (Dean) School of Continuing Education, Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi.

10. Dr. Mahi Pal

Associate Professor, Haryana Institute of Rural Development, Nilokheri, Karnal, Haryana.

11. Prof. S.P. Jain

Chairman, Society for Governance and Sustainable Development, Lucknow and Former Director, Centre for Panchayati Raj, National Institute of Rural Development, Hyderabad.

12. Dr (Mrs) Amita Singh

Associate Professor, Centre for the Study of Law and Governance, School of Social Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi.

13. Prof. Rajiv Ranjan Prasad

Professor and Head, Centre for Social Development, National Institute of Rural Development, Hyderabad.

14. Dr (Mrs K. Jayalakshmi

Associate Professor, Centre for Panchayati Raj, National Institute of Rural Development, Hyderabad.

15. Shri I. C. Srivastava, IAS (Retd.)

Former Chairman, Rajasthan State Revenue Board, Govt. of Rajasthan, Jaipur, Rajasthan.

16. Dr. Yatindra Singh Sisodia

Senior Fellow, Madhya Pradesh Institute of Social Sciences, Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh.

17. Prof. G. Palanithurai

Dean, Faculty of Rural Social Sciences and Rajiv Gandhi Chair Professor of Panchayati Raj Studies, Department of Political Science and Development Administration, Gandhigram Rural Institute (Deemed University), Gandhigram, Tamil Nadu.

18. Shri Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer

Former Judge, Supreme Court of India, New Delhi, now based in Kochi, Kerala.

19. Shri P. Shiv Shanker

Former Governor of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram. He has been served as Union Minister for Human Resource Development, External Affairs, Commerce, Law, Justice and Company Affairs, Govt. of India, now he is based in Hyderabad.

20. Shri Rabi Ray

Former Speaker of Lok Sabha, New Delhi. He has been served as Union Minister for Health and Family Affairs, Govt. of India, New Delhi.

21. Shri Ajit Kumar Panja

Former Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Information and Broadcasting, Govt. of India, New Delhi.

22. Shri N. Rangasamy

Hon'ble Chief Minister of Pondicherry, Pondicherry.

23. Dr. T.H. Chowdhary

Information Technology Adviser to the Government of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad and Chairman, Pragna Bharati, Andhra Pradesh. He has been served as Chairman and Managing Director, Videsh Sanchar Nigam Ltd., Mumbai.

24. Dr. George Mathew

Director, Institute of Social Sciences, New Delhi.