ISSN: 0973-0257



THE GRASSROOTS GOVERNANCE JOURNAL

(A Window to Understanding Village Republics of India) Published by Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India

Published by Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of IndiaChairman: DR. SUBHASH C. KASHYAPEditor: DR. D. SUNDAR RAM

Grassroots Democracy
Volume I

January-June, 2003

CONTENTS

Number 1

| Articles | Page |
|---|---------|
| Institutionalisation of Grassroots Governance | 4.4.6 |
| Subhash C. Kashyap | 1-16 |
| Democracy and Civic Education – A South Asian Perspective | 17-31 |
| M. Aslam | |
| Role of Caste Groups in New Panchayati Raj System : A Case Analysis of Tamil Nadu | 32-49 |
| G. Palanithurai | |
| Rejuvenating Republic through Local Governments | 50-61 |
| Jayaprakash Narayana, IAS (Retd.) | |
| Participation, Decentralised Planning and Panchayati Raj in India – A Review | 62-77 |
| S.P. Jain | |
| The Status of PRI's in Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka : A Comparison | 78-100 |
| M Gopinath Reddy & Madhuusudana Bandhi | |
| Notes and Comments | |
| Panchayats – One Step Forward | 101-108 |
| George Mathew | |
| Governance of Democracy | 109-111 |
| Rajesh Tandon | |
| Document | |
| The National Declaration for Local Self-Governance | 112-114 |
| Book Reviews | |
| V.K.S. Chowdhary, The Ivory Tower: 51 Years of the Supreme Court of India, New Delhi, | 115-117 |
| Universal Law Publishing Co. Pvt. Ltd., 2002 | |
| V.R. Krishna Iyer | |
| M.P. Singh and Rekha Saxena, India at the Polls: Parliamentary Elections in | 118-121 |
| the Federal Phase, Hyderabad, Orient Longman, 2003 | |
| Bidyut Chakrabarthy | |
| Sampat Jain, Public Interest Litigation, New Delhi, Deep and Deep Publications, 2002 | 121-126 |
| N.S. Gehlot | |

NOTES ON THE CONTRIBUTORS

(Designations of the Contributors are at the time of the Publication of the Journal in the Year-2003)

1. Dr. Subhash C. Kashyap

Former Secretary-General of Lok Sabha; President, Rashtriya Jagrithi Sansthan; Honorary Research Professor, Centre for Policy Studies; Founder Chairman, Academy of Grassroots Studies and Research of India; Chairman, Editorial Board of The Grassroots Governance Journal and Editor, South Asia Politics, New Delhi.

2. Prof. M. Aslam

Professor of Rural Development and Former Director (Dean) School of Continuing Education, Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi.

3. Prof. G. Palanithurai

Dean, Faculty of Rural Social Sciences and Rajiv Gandhi Chair Professor of Panchayati Raj Studies, Department of Political Science and Development Administration, Gandhigram Rural Institute (Deemed University), Gandhigram, Tamil Nadu.

4. Dr. Jayaprakash Narayana, IAS (Retd.)

National Co-ordinator of Lok Satta Movement, Hyderabad. He has been served as Secretary to the Governor of Andhra Pradesh and Secretary to the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad.

5. Prof. S.P. Jain

Hon. Director, Appropriate Technology Development Association, Lucknow and Former Director, Centre for Panchayati Raj, National Institute of Rural Development, Hyderabad.

6. Dr. M. Gopinath Reddy

Reader, Centre for Economic and Social Studies, Hyderabad.

7. Mr. Madhuusudana Bandhi

Ph. D. Scholar, Department of Political Science, Gulbarga University and Research Associate (Parttime), Centre for Economic and Social Studies, Hyderabad.

8. Dr. George Mathew

Director, Institute of Social Sciences, New Delhi.

9. Dr. Rajesh Tandon

President, Participatory Research in Asia, New Delhi.

10. Shri Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer

Former Judge, Supreme Court of India, New Delhi, now he is based in Kochi, Kerala.

11. Prof. Bidyut Chakrabarthy

Professor of Political Science, University of Delhi, Delhi.

12. Prof. N.S. Gehlot

Professor of Political Science, MDS University, Ajmer, Rajasthan.